Misadventures Of An Average Mom

Because Average is the New Awesome!

weekends

on January 19, 2013

This weekend actually came up pretty quickly. I’m not upset about this. I may be home all day and have no real sense of that time, but I do have a husband that works enough hours that by the time the weekend comes I am ready for him to be home to have the reinforcements.

We don’t have a busy weekend ahead, but it isn’t exactly a ‘sit and lay back’ kind of one either. Today we have a birthday party to go to. I kind of still need to get the gift for the birthday boy too… oops. I’m usually more on top of those things. Tomorrow I am getting together with a good friend that I haven’t seen for way too long. So really, other than those two things the schedule is pretty open. The weekends always still seem to go by way too quickly. Monday Lilly doesn’t have school so I am going to try and think of some activity  I may do one of those homemade playdough recipes but I really hate playdough. Plus Edison will just sit and eat it.

So in just barely under 3 weeks I will turn 30. I really haven’t been phased by it because I am married and have 2 kids and, at least for this point in my life, that is all I had hoped for. It’s not like I am chomping at the bit because my internal clock is running out or any other those other typical freak-outs women entering 30 seem to have. I have other ambitions but they can wait until I am in less demand. I have been feeling like I should do something though or have some goals because 1. it’s an excuse to and 2. I just feel unfulfilled on a more intrinsic level. Anyway I started one of those “30” lists that people do. Usually they start them at 29 and use the year before 30 to accomplish things. I will just be backwards and use my first year in a new decade of life to do the list. Everyone says it but DAMN coming up with 30 things is actually a trick! This is what I have so far:

  1. Enjoy a Spa Day
  2. Take Tsang’s MahJong class
  3. Run a real 5k
  4. Run something higher than a 5k
  5. Get down to my ‘acceptable’ goal weight
  6. Go horseback riding
  7. Take a weekend vacation
  8. Make at least 3 new friends
  9. Pay off all credit card debt
  10. Try a new recipe at least every other week
  11. Do at least one new sewing project and one new craft project per month
  12. Go shoot one of my dads guns with him a the gun range (I really dislike guns…) might be good to know HOW to do it though.
  13. Read more. (maybe 15 books) I know that is NOT much, but I don’t have the time and am not a super fast reader. Or shouldn’t be… when I read too fast I miss things.

I don’t know. It’s a start. Its depressing that I am not even half don’t with the list though, let alone actually accomplishing them. Ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Well my day is going to very quickly escape me so I should probably get going and do some stuff!

In case there are any new people here and want to read up on everything I had over at blogger you are able to do so HERE!

Leave a Reply

