Misadventures Of An Average Mom

Because Average is the New Awesome!

Virtual 5k

on January 22, 2013

So a large part of what I have blogged about in the past is my weight loss venture and my slow progression to becoming a “runner”. I really still have a hard time calling myself a runner, but I feel gross if I don’t go to the gym (or go outside) and run every.single.night. So.. I guess since most other people in the world are sitting watching tv and I am busting my butt running at 8:45 every night for an hour I can safely say I am, in fact, a runner. I have gotten back in the habit of making sure I DO run for at least 35 minutes every night and now just need to incorporate more of the machines in my routine. I also feel like it is making a difference again, finally, watching every single thing I eat as far as my weight goes. I really hope I can reach my goals. I know I need to lose more than I have set as a goal, but I wont reach anything if I don’t set smaller attainable goals. Anyway, I digress, back to running. I follow the blog http://www.runsforcookies.com/. Katie is an amazing inspiration in a lot of ways but her running and how she came to do it is the biggest part of that. She started off like I did, just walking and deciding “why not run?”. One of the things she has been talking about a lot and getting ready for is a virtual 5k she is organizing. I have been thinking about registering for it but haven’t bothered because then I have to commit to running a minimum of the 3 miles on a Friday night instead of changing up my running like I probably would ordinarily do. Today I decided that I NEED that motivation and expectation to run the minimum distance so I can get more in the habit of running it more consistently (I often get bored and walk at a super high incline and the run again or just move to the elliptical etc.). I signed up. I WILL run the 5k on the treadmill without stopping. It will be awesome. If you want to sign up too I’m pretty sure [read: I hope] it’s not too late! http://www.runsforcookies.com/2012/12/virtual-5k.html

The weekend went pretty well. It was busy but not overwhelming which is a nice change. The birthday party we went to on Saturday was fun and a great way for Lilly to get some JUST LILLY time without Edison around. We both miss our friends. With preschool as an interruption she doesn’t get to see her best buddies as often and I definitely don’t see the Mama’s enough. We need to plan a moms night out and just catch up and relax. I’m excited because I borrowed some camera gear from a friend/co-worker of Paco’s to use at the birthday party. I probably look like a crazy stalker to any of the other parents at these parties because I am NOT the parent but am always the one going around photographing everything I can. Luckily my friends know me well enough to be used to it by now 🙂 Plus poor Karol had her hands full and didn’t get to pick her camera up much at all. Now I just have the daunting task of going through all of them. Plus, I can review to see how I managed the lens and stuff. I definitely like it and think if I got to play with it more could get more used to it and enjoy it. (it is a Nikon 17-55mm f2.8). I need a faster lens like  this one. I could use a few more too.. drool.. lenses. I wish they weren’t so expensive.

Sunday was fantastic because I got to meet up with one of my very best friends and just sit and chat. We figured out that July was the last time we got to get together in that capacity. JULY?!? Unbelievable. We were at the coffee shop for nearly 5 hours just talking without a single pause in conversation  If anything we kept getting on tangents and never really gave ourselves a chance to finish other parts of the conversation we had started. ha! We are thinking of trying to get together for our respective 30th birthdays since they are a month apart (and mine is coming up in 2.5 weeks). I think it is a must. Especially since I wont have anything else going on.

Leave a Reply

