Misadventures Of An Average Mom

Because Average is the New Awesome!

Virtual 5K Update!

on January 26, 2013

Okay, so for now this will be super short and to the point. GASP, I know!

I got my tush to the gym and did the virtual 5k I mentioned in my last blog post. I had a couple fantastic excuses for skipping it (namely the total of 6 hours of sleep I have gotten in the past 50 hours) but I went ahead and did it! I even managed it in the time goal I set! I was SUPER surprised at how easily running at the 6 speed was tonight.

Anyway, I have pictures and more about that and the past couple of days, oy, but check back here tomorrow for that because right now I need to try and get any sleep I can manage!

night!

Real update:

Okay, like I said yesterday I had some fantastic excuses for skipping the 5k at the gym but I went anyway. Edison’s cold turned into just full blown awfulness. on Wednesday night he was up literally every 20-30 minutes. The second I put him back down he started crying again or when I put him down and I got in bed I might have slept for 20 minutes and he was crying again. I got 2 hours of sleep, in half hour increments. It was terrible. Thursday I took him to the doctor and was diagnosed with an ear infection in the left ear so he got meds. Thursday night was better as I got about 4 hours of sleep (not in one stretch again). He was still miserable though all day long and by evening I was at my absolute wits end. My brothers birthday was Wednesday so he came home for the weekend and we went out to dinner. We got back to the house (Paco and Edison had stayed home) and after another hour and a half I finally made it to the gym at 8:45. I just love my gym. I was the only one there the whole time as is the norm for a Friday. It might have been kind of awkward if there was someone else there when I started taking pictures of myself afterall. I had a goal of 30 minutes for the 5k which would be a 10min mile. I can easily accomplish this outside but for some reason the treadmill is harder for me. Regardless I did my warm up walk and then started for the 5k distance. I was really surprised how easily the 6speed went! I bumped it at the end and got done in 29:58 (the picture below sucks because I had the flash and didn’t really pay attention until after I cleared the display out. oops.) I took 3 separate pictures because I thought it would be more interesting that way. meh. I’m weird like that.

I look horrible but then I think back to a year ago when I would not have dreamed of posting a picture after a run (not that I was running at this time a year ago)

I look horrible but then I think back to a year ago when I would not have dreamed of posting a picture after a run (not that I was running at this time a year ago)

if you look closely you can see the 2 and the 8 but the 9 and 5 are not really visible. I promise thats what it says!

if you look closely you can see the 2 and the 8 but the 9 and 5 are not really visible. I promise thats what it says!

5k! woo!

5k! woo!

I’m really happy I went ahead and did the run. I wont get to go at all next week which will just bug me by Friday so I have to really make sure to get there this weekend. Tonight might be tricky because I have birthday dinner round 2 with my dad and step mom. That and I am fairly certain I am catching whatever Edison has. PRAY TO THE WELLNESS GODS THAT I’M NOT!!!!!

Okay, will post more of my exciting (not really) weekend adventures tomorrow. I have to get over this headache and get ready to head out to dinner!

One response to “Virtual 5K Update!

  1. Congrats on an awesome time!! I love the pictures, too 🙂 Thanks so much for participating!

Leave a Reply

