Misadventures Of An Average Mom

Because Average is the New Awesome!

It’sa Me, Mario!

on February 6, 2013

Birthday season is upon us (and almost over, actually) so we have been busy keeping up with all the festivities. Lilly is in a group of friends who all have birthdays within a few months of one another. One of those friends, Colton, had a Mario themed party and his mom asked if I would make his cake after seeing the Hello Kitty one I made for Lilly. I am always up for helping a friend and taking on challenges so I said yes! I was sent a link to one that is the inspiration since Lindsay liked it and thought it would be a good fit. I would like to say I didn’t copy it exactly, but really, let’s face it… they are pretty similar. I am proud of myself that I used just a blank round cake and freehand traced out the design instead of using any actual templates pressed into the cake or something like that. Best of all, everyone loved it and at least a couple may have thought it was done by a professional. That’s always a feel good moment 🙂Image

DSC_0252 DSC_0253 DSC_0254 DSC_0255

One thing I can say is that I will never be a professional baker. I love crafting, I love the challenge of working with all different mediums, I love the finished product. What I do not love is the time and energy and expense necessary to keep up with all the different things. I cannot imagine the time that bakers have to devote to constantly turn around and make so many different products. I will keep doing favors for friends and family but there is no way I would make it a business. I will stick to my sewing and other crafts/photography thank you very much!

p.s. I had intended this to be under the craft corner tab. Clearly I am not always the brightest crayon in the box and need to find time to play around with wordpress and figure it all out. Technology, psh. Okay, I’ll just re-name that tab since I think I misunderstood what it’s purpose is…

2 responses to “It’sa Me, Mario!

  1. Brittany says:

    This cake is AMAZING!! I LOVE it.

Leave a Reply

