Misadventures Of An Average Mom

Because Average is the New Awesome!

The Pharaoh’s Curse… on my car!

on February 18, 2013

Okay. So Murphy’s Law has struck full force on my life at the moment. First of all I had plans. Good plans. Plans to finally get us to a much more comfortable spot financially where we rightfully should be given the whole ‘we actually have a decent job in this otherwise job lacking economy’. We got our tax refund and I paid off the balance on the van (it was set to be paid in November but I wanted to get that $330 a month back NOW). All of Paco’s car mess aside the second I pay off the van it starts having it’s own issues. We knew it needs new brake pads and we were going to get that taken care of. BUT then when taking Lilly to school one day it did a very strange stalling out but not really problem. I would have the gas pedal depressed but we definitely weren’t moving anywhere. It was as though the car had been put in neutral all of the sudden. It did this a few times in the one outing and then I was too afraid to drive it. I did take it out later to the gym and the store and it was fine. Really, it has run fine ever since that isolated incident. 

Luckily, Paco knows people and borrowed a professional grade diagnostic tool to see if we could get some codes to figure out the problems on our own. We honestly just wanted to know what we were dealing with so we can figure out the best course of action (and funding). It came up with some codes for the back hatch (a few years ago I was rear ended and after getting it repaired from the collision center it has INconveniently not worked since. I need to call them still since it has a lifetime warranty on the work but the whole pregnancy illness/complications/super preemie threw a wrench in those plans and it has just become increasingly difficult to find the time to call). Anyway, it came up with a code for Lilly’s door lock and something else. Is it just me or is this a lot of electrical… Then it had 3 transmission codes. I cant remember the exact codes, Paco has those, but one was Loss of Prime, one was something about a sensor, and I cant remember the last one. Paco did research and apparently we were never supposed to flush the transmission. In my car that is a very very bad thing. Way to go Sears for catching that one… grrrr. Lesson learned: pay more and go to the dealer… 

So since the dumb thing hasn’t had any other incident we have been cautiously using it since I really don’t drive that much or very far. We did go out of town Saturday but took Paco’s new swagon just to be safe. Since he had to move the car seats around he decided yesterday to just do a deep clean of the van when he put them back in. So sweet. Well, he had the doors all open to do that and when he was done and went to put it in the garage he got a nice loud CLICK CLICK CLICK CLICK CLICK. Ugh. Got the battery checked out and sure enough, it was shot. $130 after recycling discount and tax and I have a new battery.

The thing is Paco had done some other research and found that some of those electrical transmission issues could be caused by a bad battery since it wasn’t getting the right charge. I really hope this is the case and the problems aren’t that bad. I know I need to just suck it up and take it to the dealer to get the once over but I am just so afraid of the potential bill. I am actually trying to find things in my house to sell and trying to decide if any of my friends on facebook would buy handmade earrings and bracelets since I dabbled in the whole beaded jewelry making for a while. I also debated selling certain baked goods.

I would need to sell a lot to get to transmission repair costs, but it has to come from somewhere and right now we don’t have it. 

Leave a Reply

