Misadventures Of An Average Mom

Because Average is the New Awesome!

The List

on February 19, 2013

I have mentioned it plenty of times that I am a “Jill of all trades” type of gal. This is evidenced by the fact that I can make decent cakes, hand-sewn items, crafts, and beaded jewelry. I have never made any of those things my focus (sewing wins over all of the others, but I am still a work in progress). Because of the time I spent on sewing for the craft fair my beads/jewelry making went to the wayside and I am left with a bunch of abandoned beads. I believe that anyone can make pretty things with these so what I have is absolutely nothing special. The thing is, not everyone wants to or has the means of investing the time and money into the supplies. (For the record, I haven’t really either. I have a pretty dismal stash of beads that fit into the bottom of a standard backpack and a couple of pliers/crimpers.)

Most recently with the list of repairs to the car and house growing I have come to realize I need to do SOMETHING to make some money to put towards these expenses. I would love to really devote my time to sewing so I figure if I can make some earrings, bracelets, etc with the beads I have to deplete that stash and make money off of it I am better off. It will take a while to build an “inventory” of things to sell off but I figure it will be worth it to have them made and then I can even throw them in the craft fair in November if I have to. They are simple and absolutely nothing fancy but they are also pretty in a non elaborate type way.

Here’s the first pair of earrings I have made so far:

Image

Homage to my Alma Mater! ISU colors, woo!

In case anyone is interested here is the list of things we need to find money for:

*Van brake pads

*Van transmission?

*Van electrical systems

*bat living in the wall

*Bailey’s teeth cleaning

*Deck replacement & house foundation repair

I know there are more. I keep forgetting them since I can’t exactly do them right now anyway. This list is just of the things that NEED to be done. There are plenty of things that we would like to improve on the house like windows, insulation, front steps, driveway, etc. It just never ends! I can only hope I can get to a lot of the things and at good prices so we can start saving (ha!) for the bigger wish list.

On a side note: if anyone wants me to make something for them I am SO game, just leave a comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

