Misadventures Of An Average Mom

Because Average is the New Awesome!

An Adventure in Paints

on March 28, 2013

Okay, I have started a blog post about 7 different times. Then I have to go actually DO something and then decide I don’t like what was written. Then I have an emotional change of heart or something about what I was going to post so I delete it again. Nuts to it. I will wait until I am more stable or can really thoughtfully put into words what I want to say before I bother. In the mean time I will post pictures of a fun Spring Break activity I did last week with the kids. And will NEVER do again. Well.. I will, but not with the paint we used/made.

There has been a thing floating around facebook about the “best paint ever” and “why would you ever buy paint again when you can make this?”. Because it is crap, that’s why. The recipe is:

1 cup flour

1 cup salt

1 cup water

food coloring.

Now, it isn’t that I thought it was going to be great. That is a ton of salt. I decided to give it the benefit of the doubt and try it because it was something fun to do with the kids and I had everything needed to make it. Plus, let’s face it, I am always out to save a buck. The salt content was really unbearable. As it dried on the kids they would stand up or move and you could just hear it raining salt. It’s a good thing I completely papered off the kitchen for this…Also, unless you really just globbed it on in thick splatters it didn’t smoothly paint out at all. It may be more of a finger paint, but with brushes it definitely didn’t spread right.

At the end of the day all that mattered is that the kids had a good time and it was a fun way to spend some creative time. I will totally paper the kitchen off again and try with REAL paints. A bit of awesome info regarding the paper: You can go to your local paper (in most cases) and get the “end of the bolt” rolls of paper from the printing. They stop the printing machines when there is tons of paper left on it because it wont work for the printing process but has lots of usable paper left over. At our local paper the first two are free then you can more for $1.50 a piece. I would call ahead to check that they have some and do this but it is an AMAZING way to get craft paper!

DSC_0746 DSC_0747 DSC_0748 DSC_0749 DSC_0750 DSC_0751 DSC_0752 DSC_0753 DSC_0755 DSC_0759 DSC_0760 DSC_0762 DSC_0763 DSC_0767 DSC_0769 DSC_0774 DSC_0775

Leave a Reply

