Misadventures Of An Average Mom

Because Average is the New Awesome!

Weight Loss Wednesday: planning stages

on April 4, 2013

Okay so Weight Loss Wednesday is obviously a day late. I told you I wasn’t very good at this.

Really, not very good, I didn’t even weigh myself. In my defense I didn’t realize the batteries in BOTH wii-motes were dead and we have no other batteries. And yes, I use the wii.. we have carpet in our WHOLE house (bathroom included, stupid previous owners!) and I’m not about to keep or haul a scale to the kitchen all the time.

In light of that we will just call this one a planning stage. Which is good anyway because I ate a terrible dinner last night of tuna noodle casserole. I accidentally opened a can of cream of mushroom soup a couple days ago, dont ask, and refuse to let things go to waste so I made a batch of that since Paco hates it and isnt here to deal with it! It is just about the healthiest meal on the planet though so we’ll just leave that as it is and move on. I shared it with my mom so luckily I dont feel compelled to sit and eat a vat of tuna, noodles, and cream soups. ick. It’s a wonder I made it but it really was delicious, just disturbingly loaded.

So the plan is this:

*NO MORE MOCHAS. I usually make my own at home which are surprisngly worse for me than the ones I can buy because of the way I make them. I will be drinking green tea from here on out.

*lots of baked foods. I have gotten out of the habit of casseroles but still default to them when I need a quick dinner.

*LOSEIT.COM I absolutely undoubtedly MUST get back to counting every single calorie that goes in my mouth. It is what worked to lose my initial 47 pounds (before I gained 8 back) so clearly I just have to keep with this until I can really maintain for a good length of time.

*no more cheese (whimper). It isnt necessary. I can live without it.

*Very limited desserts. I know me. I have eating issues, always have. I was borderline anorexic in high school- went a couple of weeks without eating anything here and there, ate smaller meals when I did eat, NEVER ate breakfast or lunch. I don’t know the definitions of eating disorders but even though I was undiagnosed you can bet I had something  between the bi-polar not eating and the then secretly bingeing. sigh.  Anyway, if I have a little it usually turns into a lot quite a bit and then I feel guilty and awful and swear to never eat it again only to go back and sneak more desserts later. So.. I will allow indulgences in very finite portion sizes and count it all but not allow myself to go overboard.

*keep trucking away at the exercise. I am really proud of myself because all of the sudden I can very comfortably run a 10 minute ave/mi 5k. Every. single. night. I asked some friends who are in the know in the work out department and suggested I do some interval type stuff so I was AMAZED when I was actually able to run an 8 minute mile with no problems. I mean, WHAT! Last year at this time I was just toying with the idea of doing a 5k and hoping I could run a 12 minute mile without dying.

*JUST RELAX. I have goals, but they are smaller goals at a time so I don’t get discouraged but ultimately know it is not a race. As long as I am not gaining weight, am overall healthy, and having fun then I am okay. I am better off than I was 2 years ago. I just want to be here for my family for many more years and I don’t want food to be an issue with my kids like it always has been for me. I don’t want to make it a focus that my own daughter will pick up on. I want her to know that mommy is trying to be healthier but NOT that I am trying to be pretty or skinny. And it’s true. While I would love to be a couple sizes smaller and not feel gross with myself, I really do just want to be healthy and healthier looking.

I will get a good starting weight, measurements, and MAYBE some before pictures this weekend when reinforcements return so I can do so without kids climbing on me or otherwise preventing accurate readings. Wish me luck and send me some good will power vibes!

My first goal would be to ideally lose 6 pounds by May 1. Totally attainable and a healthy rate of loss. Hopefully I lose a little more than that though!

One response to “Weight Loss Wednesday: planning stages

  1. Danielle says:

    Hey, I also love loseit.com! Definitely was a good free app! 🙂 Also, I love this recipe and thought you might like it since I know you have made homemade pesto. (We don’t use the almonds and use the bag of 99 cent pre-shucked frozen edemame.) http://www.thekitchn.com/recipe-pesto-pasta-with-lemon-145783
    ~DV

Leave a Reply

