Misadventures Of An Average Mom

Because Average is the New Awesome!

The Cherry Pitting Process — Video!

on June 30, 2013

Okay, so I have a lot of people tell me that they love my homemade cherry pies and treats (tooting own horn, yes…). A lot also joke around about gladly taking all those cherries off my hands once they are picked and other various questions about them since who doesn’t think cherries are awesome? I decided the best way to show what all goes into my cherry process is to do a short video!

I want to pretense by saying PLEASE EXCUSE THE UGLINESS! It is not a “dress to impress” activity and I had just gotten out of the shower from coming back from the gym. Sadly, once done you really almost need to step back in the shower because you look like something out of a horror film- cherry juice EVERYWHERE.  I also want to say I am not one to willingly step in front of the camera so it is a little out of my comfort zone. Just don’t laugh or judge me… OKAY >:-/ and thank you 🙂

This is definitely a bumper crop year because I have NEVER, in the 5 years that I have done this process, gotten SO many in one season. I could go pick some more if I wanted (and were insane!). I am happy to do this because I feel like it only makes sense. Why let something so amazing go to waste? I may do it the hard way by not using a cherry pitter but I imagine it is more how it was done in the old days and there is something about that that makes me feel very accomplished.

I know, I am as surprised as you are that I still have all of my fingers in tact…

I plan on making a couple of batches of cherry jelly and will look more into canning whole cherries but I will likely just freeze them. They keep well, retain color and taste better, and take up less space.. kind of. It really is just one of the things that makes me awesome 🙂

OH! Okay, so I decided to run a bit of a contest here too. Maybe gain some readership (not that I NEED that or am aiming for it. Who knows what my purpose for this blog really is). BUT I have decided to share some of my cherry awesomeness with the rest of the world. I will ship someone a 4 oz jar of sour cherry jelly (it isn’t super sour because of all the sugar, it’s just that they are sour cherries, hence sour cherry jelly.. got it?) Anyway here are the details:

CHERRY JELLY CONTEST!

In the comments section guess how many individual cherries you think I gathered and processed this year based off of this picture:

20130628_165137

I will even give you a hint. Each cherry has about a half inch diameter…

RULES:

1.Please post your guess in the comments section

2. Get an extra entry if you comment on how you follow my blog (feedly/other reader, e-mail, just checking in, etc).

3. Open to US residents only. I don’t think customs would be super happy with shipping preserves. SORRY!

4. Bear with me to whoever the winner is, I have yet to actually preserve the jelly so it may not be shipped for a few weeks but I promise I will stick to my word and get one to you!

5. Closest guess to the actual number wins one 4 oz jar of jelly!

6. Contest will close on Sunday July 7th at 11:59pm CST. Winner will be announced on Monday the 8th.

Happy guessing! THANK YOU!

4 responses to “The Cherry Pitting Process — Video!

  1. Kelly Wolterman says:

    I am guessing about 2,000 cherries. Loved the video and am sure I’ll love the log too. Very interesting. We had a cherry tree in our backyard when I was a kid. We never did anything with the cherries except enjoy the pretty blossoms.

  2. Jessica Wyatt says:

    I’m guessing 6,436. 🙂 And goodness gracious those look so yummy!

  3. Tish Keng says:

    I’m going to guess 4,500 cherries. 🙂

  4. Danielle V says:

    I shall guess 3200.

Leave a Reply

