Misadventures Of An Average Mom

Because Average is the New Awesome!

Cherry Jelly Winner!

on July 9, 2013

I should have posted yesterday and honestly I kind of forgot about it until late last night! Oops! Serves me right for running a contest while I am on vacation with no very extremely sketchy 3G phone internet. I also should note that for the future I might get more response if I AM around to promote it a little more. Oh Well, the fewer the guesses the better the odds for those who did!  Remember, it is my first attempt and re-reading the post I realized I threw in other contingencies that didn’t make sense if I was going for the closest guess. Sheesh. Anyway, without further ado the winner of a lovely and delicious 4oz jar of my cherry jelly is:

Danielle V!

She guessed 3200 and that was pretty amazingly close since the actual number I pitted and processed was 3060. I’m going to hopefully get to the jelly by the 3rd weekend of July so once it sets I will get it out to you. Let me know your address so I can send it! ewolterman (at) gmail (dot) com

Like I said, we were actually gone for the past week because we went up to my family cabin in Northern Minnesota. Paco doesn’t have the same affection for it as I do but that is understandable since he grew up with oceans and I am privileged enough to have had the lake my whole life. Truly.. my grandparents bought it the year I was born. I have been going up from the time I was a baby til now. There were a few years during college that I didn’t make it because of sorority formal recruitment, classes, internships, etc. Those were terrible because I feel like I did miss out on so much. The lake is where my extended family has spent a lot of time together and is one of the main reasons I feel as close to my cousins as I do.

While I still hate spiders, I am able to handle worms (hook them and all!) and fish (…umm, unhook them!) and a lot of other skills because of my experiences at the lake. I love it. I am so happy my kids get to experience so many of the things I did as a child. We do have a TV there, but it is small and has very little reception so we went an entire week without one single TV show. Awesome. Edison was so worn out from playing out in the sand and water that he had no problems getting in bed right away and staying there.

The only downside to this trip is that right when we were getting near the cabin my grandpa called saying he didn’t feel that well and was going to call an ambulance to take him into town. We were pretty much just coming up on said town so we went ahead to the hospital and waited for him to arrive. After we got him settled in the ER I took my family and cousin back to the cabin and then drove myself back to the hospital to sit with my mom and wait for details. When all was said and done we were at the hospital for 9 hours. This is after I had been in a car driving for 9 hours. And, after I had obviously been awake since early in the morning. Being awake for 27 hours straight under those conditions just makes for one exhausted Erica. We got back to the cabin and I slept from 9:30am to 12:07pm and then started the day! Luckily grandpa is fine now and we got to enjoy some time at the cabin with him.

That’s all I have to report! I’ll recap the actual trip in pictures! We got out on the water enough to make everyone happy and also had a day that was less than ideal so for the first time in AGES I was able to just sit and read a book. (Room by Emma Donoghue).

DSC_1538 DSC_1543 DSC_1545 DSC_1558 DSC_1571 DSC_1588 DSC_1590 DSC_1594 DSC_1606 DSC_1609 DSC_1618 DSC_1626 DSC_1633 DSC_1634 DSC_1644 DSC_1658 DSC_1668 DSC_1670 DSC_1680

Leave a Reply

