Misadventures Of An Average Mom

Because Average is the New Awesome!

Weight Loss Wednesday: back in the habit

on July 10, 2013

Okay. So, clearly, I fail. Well… I fail at a lot of things. One of which is the whole consistently posting about my weight loss :::cough:::  :::efforts:::: ::::cough::::: Yeah. It isn’t that I haven’t been trying, I just haven’t been tracking everything. I need to keep reminding myself THIS DOESN’T WORK IN MY FAVOR. I dread the idea of having to carefully monitor every single thing I eat for the rest of my life just to maintain a normal weight. BUT when I don’t, I don’t lose the weight either. So back to the drawing board as far as finding things that motivate me and keep me accountable. It isn’t that I have fallen terribly off track. I am around the 184 mark which is pretty much where I have been for a month. So much for getting down 15 pounds by now… So new goal: be 165 by Thanksgiving. It is in the area of 5 pounds per month, which, even if I don’t strictly follow things is attainable. Now that I need excuses for getting off track…

With the exception of being at the lake last week I have been very consistently running 4 miles at 10 minute mile paces…. On the treadmill. I discovered again very quickly that running on the treadmill and running outside are completely different. I need to switch up what my plan is again to get better at running outside again. I think the plan is to sign up for an area 5k that takes place in August. That should motivate me! I would love to do it in 30 minutes but we will see after I get to training outside again. I also don’t want to ‘waste’ my gym membership so I need to find the balance between outside runs, treadmill runs, and getting the Bailey pup out for some exercise that wont kill her (overweight 9 year old dog running outside in Iowa mugginess and heat… probably not a great combo). 

I would like to point out that even 4 miles at a 10 minute pace on the treadmill is SO HUGE for me. When I started trying to run a year ago I lasted about 90 seconds at a 13 minute pace and felt like I was going to die. I know I must be doing something okay because even if the scale doesn’t reflect it, I know I am a little bit more fit and healthy. 

So there we have it. Broken record. I crack down and succeed. I stop. I fail. I start over. Sigh. Anyone have good ideas for motivation to stick with it once and for all until I, at the very least, reach my desired ‘acceptable’ goal. I say acceptable because ideally I would get down to 150… but you know.. beggars can’t be choosers. Baby steps. 

Leave a Reply

