Misadventures Of An Average Mom

Because Average is the New Awesome!

Sew Sunday: already behind-ish

on July 14, 2013

I have my craft fair production schedule all made up. Actually I just changed it on Thursday night because I decided I did not want to do the tea wallets next. Yesterday I was supposed to have the pirate treasure bags done to go with the maps. Unfortunately Friday night I kind of got a headache and a really mild fever but still felt blah. Yesterday morning I felt great… until about noon when I felt terrible. FRIGID, headache, achey all over, and finally peaked at about a 103 fever. This is summer, right? I mean COME ON! I bounced between freezing cold, I couldn’t even feel my numb hands and feet, and burning up. The fever finally broke around 11 and then I couldn’t cool down and was drenched in sweat. Needless to say, this pretty well prevented me from getting anything at all accomplished.

Thursday night I also managed to cut out about half of my burp cloths flannel and gauze. I was also going to finish those off over the weekend but it didn’t happen. I am feeling well enough that I am sure I can get the bags done today and then cut the remaining fabric out tonight. So, with all of that cut out it will be a breeze to zip through the burp cloths. I can’t decide if I want to go ahead and cut out all of the bibs and just sew everything all at once or cut and sew, cut and sew. It would probably be a good break to do the latter.

Before I can do any of it I need to tackle THIS disaster that has become my craft/sewing area. Oops.

20130714_134138

 

It doesn’t look too terrible, but trust me… nothing is getting done with piles like that ON my desk and around it.

On ANOTHER sewing related note I checked craigslist Thursday for sewing machines (I’m getting to the ‘need a new one’ phase. Kind of. I love mine, but you know… yeah). Anyway I saw zippers for $10. I thought “rock on! I totally need zippers and, hey, this is A LOT of zippers. Let’s do this”. I picked them up Friday. It was advertised 150 for $10. I counted (yes, I counted…) there are actually 211 zippers. AMAZING. That comes out to 4.6 cents per zipper. ย The vast majority are 20-22 inches but zippers can be shortened so it works!

20130712_123254

My project before getting wrapped up in craft fair stuff I went to a baby shower and made the majority of the gift for that. It is a pretty good ‘baby shower bundle’ pack. I would love to make these up and sell them as a group to be honest because I really do think it is a great first time mom gift! It’s a wet bag (for diapers when you just don’t have a trash can around or outfit changes from diaper blowouts), a pacifier clip, pacifier pouch, burp cloth and 2 bibs. I don’t know, I think it would be a great bundle to sell ๐Ÿ˜‰

20130628_102225

Hopefully I can get moving on more sewing and make time to sew some things for myself. I got a bunch of different serger thread at a Joann sale so I can play with that a lot more. I really need to get some use on that because it is amazing and I love it.

Anyway, really quick on the weight loss front. Can you believe that the last time I weighed myself on the wii board was May 24th?!? YIKES. That is terrible. It is also when I got the flu and all of my efforts kind of fell to the way side. Can you see how easy it is for me to get off track? Truly just terrible. Anyway, by some miracle, whether it be fever induced, not having much of an appetite the past few days, or just genuine trying to not overdue it this week, I did lose a couple pounds. At the gym I have been consistently weighing in at 184 and today on the wii I was 182. I know you can argue the scales are off but, as I mentioned before, I am OCD enough that I calibrated/calculated/whatever’d the difference out to know where they were sitting in relation to each other. I need to get back in the habit of weighing on the wii on Wednesday mornings. I also hope to lose 2 pounds this week and maybe 3 next week since Paco will be gone and I am happily fed with just a piece of baked chicken and broccoli. This is not to say it’s his fault I gain weight, but he isn’t as easily pleased with boring just baked or grilled sauceless food.. so you know.. I don’t have as much willpower when the food I make is tasty ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

