Misadventures Of An Average Mom

Because Average is the New Awesome!

San Diego Day 3: First trip to the zoo!

on June 27, 2014

As I mentioned yesterday I got some year passes to the zoo here so we can take advantage of that and do it for a fun activity when the mood strikes. I don’t feel like I am cheating any system by using our temporary SoCal address (you HAVE to have one to get the yearlong passes) because it is pretty much a donation to the zoo. After all, we are only able to go for 6 weeks out of the year.

Before getting to the zoo, well, I actually needed to suck it up and have a way of getting there. We woke up early so we could take Paco to work – he drove- Obviously the only way to get back was for me to drive us. It sounds dumb to be so nervous about driving, I have been doing it since I was 14. I put the apartment address in the GPS and were on our way. The nice thing about driving at 6:45 am and going the route we did is that, honestly, it felt a lot like home. Considerably bigger hills, but like home. We came back, ate breakfast, straightened a couple things, did my blog post and then it was time to go to the zoo! I was so nervous for taking the freeway that I felt a little nauseated.

I maneuvered pretty well. The GPS was kind of confusing in a couple spots because I am not used to it so after not taking an exit I was supposed to and almost missing another we made it to the zoo. My hands were shaking! SO much traffic going so so fast. We got pretty decent parking spots too since we got there half an hour after opening. It was surprisingly busy for being so early too. It really didn’t seem too busy inside though I guess. I don’t know how to judge the crowds but it was manageable. Now, the plan was to go to the right and see the outback section and the African animals. We meandered through those getting good looks at lots of animals. Lilly was having a fantastic time and ran ahead enough to see what she wanted but stayed well enough within  view that I didn’t lose sight of her. I got Edison out of the stroller several times initially but every time I did he wanted down and started to run off. Nope. I left him in the stroller for a bit because there wasn’t anything he was particularly interested in or he was able to see them from the seat but the next time I was going to get him out he had fallen asleep. I figured that was okay since we have yet to catch up on time and his medication makes him tired (still need to do a post about all that mess).

Now, as I said, we were going to do two main section then head home for the day. That is not how it ended up working! There is no good way to get from the very bottom of the zoo back to the top without going ALL THE WAY AROUND the perimeter. Yikes. So we kind of speed-viewed one part to get back. We have to save something for the other days! Lilly had some Grammy money burning a little hole in her pocket so even though I tried to impart upon her the idea of looking at all the options and saving it she was insistent on finding something at one of the little shop stands and got one of those huge spiral lollipops. It had a little mini stuffed elephant hugging it though so at least she got something lasting in addition to the fun treat. I got one for Edison too because the kid lives for lollipops and a colossal fit would have ensued if he saw Lilly with one but didn’t have one for himself.

After the zoo we went to Target because after looking at the pool at the apartment I decided we needed some arm floaties and a tube or something for Edison. My children have yet to take swim lessons, ahem, oops. Mommy fail on that one. I have GOT to get those kids in the water more and lessons. Maybe by the end of the summer they will live for the water. I got some other bathroom soaps and essentials then headed home. By this time we hardly had time before needing to go pick Paco up from work but since I promised and we had the new toys we just had to go to the pool. It was a good time. Lilly hovered by the stairs and Edison clung to me. I mean the kid was suctioned to me. I didn’t have to hold onto him at all because he had such a tight grasp. swim lessons: a must.

Well, that is it for now! California is treating us pretty well so far. I have a feeling I will get accustomed to the driving here and when we go home I will have some serious road rage. Or get one too many speeding tickets. My goodness… Who would have thought that apparently the speed limits here are just suggestions and if you don’t go at least 10 over you get some angry looks and lots of people passing!

With all that I leave you with some pictures of the zoo!

 

DSC_6198 DSC_6128 DSC_6134 DSC_6136 DSC_6139 DSC_6141 DSC_6142 DSC_6144 DSC_6146 DSC_6154 DSC_6161 DSC_6165 DSC_6169 DSC_6174 DSC_6176 DSC_6180 DSC_6181 DSC_6182 DSC_6188 DSC_6196

One response to “San Diego Day 3: First trip to the zoo!

  1. Amanda says:

    Loved the pictures, and you are right when we were at the San Diego Zoo I also remember thinking that once you are all the way to the back getting out is hard! 🙂

Leave a Reply

