Misadventures Of An Average Mom

Because Average is the New Awesome!

Beach Day!

on July 3, 2014

I forgot to mention the other day that I ordered tickets for Disneyland!!! I am so excited. I have not been to DisneyLAND before so it will be a great experience. I love Disney so much, I absolutely refuse to grow up. The kids are young, yes. But they are also at those ages where Disney is the epitome of magic. I reserved a table for the PCH grill which is the Mickey surf theme so Mickey the Mouse himself is guaranteed to be there. Imagine knocking that off the list right off the bat! Edison is still so Mickey- centric that he will be in heaven. Lilly is just the right age that princesses are still pretty cool so of course I signed her up for the bibbidi bobbidi boutique. I am only splurging for the Coach package ($55… eep!) but she will get her hair, makeup, princess sash, cinch bag and will LOVE it. She will also definitely be wearing the Elsa dress I sewed her to make it that much more special. I would put money on her asking me for a new princess dress while we are there though. yeah… we’ll see about that. yikes. Anyway, I am pretty pumped that we can share that fun with the kids. I just told her yesterday that we are not going to Disney because it is far away and too expensive. muahahaha. The morning we go I plan on doing the whole ‘let’s video the kids with the news we are going THAT DAY’ deal. Although… after that it will be just about the longest 2 hour car drive on the planet.

Today we went to the beach with new friends! yay! One of Paco’s co-worker’s wives asked if we wanted to go since we don’t have a lot of other friends in the area and an extra set of eyes at the beach is always appreciated. It was a blast! We met up there around 9:30 with no hassle or problems parking whatsoever. It was amazing! We gathered our stuff in a good spot and let the kids loose (relatively speaking) to play. Lilly is getting more and more brave and Edison is just as content to stay on the beach and away from the water. I think I am okay with that too right now. I don’t need him rushing in without my noticing somehow. He did LOVE to follow the seagulls around though. It was hilarious to watch. It was also kind of annoying to run after him when he decided to go forever away. Anyway we managed to stay there until 1:20. Edison started to say he wanted to go home and the other little boy we were with was cold and ready for his nap too. I can’t wait to get to do it again!

DSC_6346 DSC_6347 DSC_6353 DSC_6359 DSC_6365 DSC_6366 DSC_6378 DSC_6382 DSC_6388 DSC_6403 DSC_6392

Of course, the downside of today is that rule where everyone says “put sunscreen on even if it is overcast”. Yeah, I got the kids set, got our stuff out, then they started moving so I forgot about myself!  Case in point… this is my back. Ouch.

20140702_155335-3

So, I can’t remember if I mentioned in a previous post that we were going to go to Pacific Beach Fish Shop every week while we are out here because it is awesome, but we are and we did! So tonight I got a salmon taco and a halibut taco. I cant decide if I like the halibut better than last weeks sea bass or not but all of it is AMAZING so it’s not like I can really compare any of them anyway. It definitely fills you up but it is so tasty that you just want to eat more! The ridiculous thing is that Paco will NOT eat fish. He doesn’t like it. Never has. That is, until he went on a work trip and a co-worker made him try some. Now, his favorite is swordfish. He orders a swordfish taco and the onion rings. Again, SO good!

20140702_180954 20140702_181013 20140702_181714

 

In light of my sun burn I think tomorrow we will have a low key INDOORS day. We might venture out to a nearby park for an hour and we do have to go to the store to get stuff to make corn casserole (scalloped corn) because we have a BBQ Saturday and NO ONE here has heard of it or had it. WHAT?!?! What kind of good Iowan would I be if I didn’t introduce these people to scalloped corn and just a little bit of my home in the process.

 

 

Leave a Reply

