Misadventures Of An Average Mom

Because Average is the New Awesome!

lucky kids

on July 8, 2014

Yesterday we had a bunch of errands to run in the morning. I swear since we have been here we have run to the store and stocked up on things more often than I ever would at home. Of course, at home I have certain home ‘staples’ on hand and don’t need to rush out to grab them when the need arises. We were also low on veggies and even though we had just gone to the farmer’s market we stopped at the H Mart because it is awesome. We grabbed tons of veggies (a TEN POUND bag of potatoes for $.99) UNDER ONE DOLLAR… TEN POUNDS. Mind blown. I also got some salmon from their fish counter. You really do find anything you can dream of at the H Mart too. The fish counter is amazing because it has so. much. fish. All kinds of fish are available. They will grab a live tilapia out of their tank and whack it for you right then and there. They also have lobster for $8.99 per pound. I have had one experience cooking lobster when I went to Boston with a couple of my good friends. I think once, for now, was probably enough. Considering it is minimum $17 per pound at home… and I do love me some lobster… I could be persuaded otherwise 😉

20140706_113918 20140706_112139 20140706_112430

California causes cancer.

20140706_113540

After we got our groceries we met up with my brother-in-law. He happens to be a Marine Corps Officer stationed here and was able to show us the hanger and jets he flies. It really is something that we get to take for granted because how many people can say they get to go on military bases and see that stuff. I am continually amazed and impressed with my little brother. I mean honestly… just looking at a couple of head pieces he has to wear over his face alone. NOPE. I am claustrophobic which Im sure is the main issue there but still, we have the absolute utmost respect for everything our nations military does for us. I would have posted more pictures (or actually taken more) but apparently that falls into national security issues 😉

DSC_6676  DSC_6642  DSC_6672  DSC_6643 DSC_6644 DSC_6646 DSC_6656 DSC_6654 DSC_6665 DSC_6663 DSC_6652 DSC_6651 DSC_6662 DSC_6659 DSC_6650

Today we made another trip to the library and while the kids were better behaved this time the parking was TERRIBLE. We got there right after they opened and there wasn’t a single parking space available. So annoying. We got a bunch of new books to read for the reading program but Lilly is almost done with it anyway. We will continue to read because they love it, but we will probably pick up our prizes no later than Monday. Which is good because then we can use some of the passes to the science center and padres game! Just for signing up they got free passes to Legoland and the Sea Life Aquarium. That is a $186 value apparently! Now I have to decide if we want to try and make the trip to Legoland also since we will just have to pay for the adult tickets. We are quickly running out of time on this trip!

In addition to the library we  went to the pool and had a science day and made a homemade “lava lamp” that I found on various blogs and is in one of those Target dollar section school books. The kids both LOVE it. I imagine we will run through the alka seltzer tabs pretty quickly.

DSC_6678 DSC_6679 DSC_6681 DSC_6684  DSC_6687  DSC_6690  DSC_6691 DSC_6699

 

My kids are so lucky to get to experience these fun things at such a young age!

 

2 responses to “lucky kids

  1. That pack of White Rabbit candy just brought back a whole lot of childhood memories!

  2. Erica says:

    My favorite high school English/ Language Arts teacher was a Chinese man and gave them to us all the time in class. He called them birth control candy. Unfortunately, I can’t exactly remember the quirky reasoning behind it, but if I see it he is the first thing that comes to mind.

Leave a Reply

