Misadventures Of An Average Mom

Because Average is the New Awesome!

DISNEYLAND: part 5- The Happiest Place on Earth!

on July 19, 2014

Honestly, I have to apologize to anyone who actually takes the time to read this. I have done most of these Disney posts way too late at night after exhausting days so I fear their quality has deteriorated a bit. It’s also already been a solid week since we went so now my thoughts are getting foggy on every little detail that happened. This is exactly why I need to write things down!

After a busy day and trying to meet characters and princesses while still managing to ride at least a few of the attractions we decided it was time to just plop down in a good spot while a decent one was still to be had and watch the fireworks. With the exception of a couple of trees we had a really great spot just outside and to the right of the castle (if looking at it). My poor Edison. He managed to stay awake the ENTIRE day… that is until about 3 minutes before the fireworks started. The kid passed out and managed to sleep through the entire show. He was wiped out. Hopefully I can take that as a sign that he thoroughly enjoyed his day.

The show started and Lilly was so thrilled. I was watching half through a camera lens, but I have gotten pretty used to doing this in my life anyway so I don’t really feel I missed out on anything. Besides, Paco was using the video camera so we can go relive the whole thing anytime we want! I love fireworks so much and always have. I forgot how great the Disney fireworks show is. I actually got a little choked up at a coupe of parts. I think some of that comes from watching it through my child’s eyes as she was in such awe and I will admit it hit a little close when they started playing Dumbo’s “Baby Mine” and then had him fly across the sky because that is one of the two songs I used to sing to my kids when they were babies and I was rocking them to sleep at night both in the NICU and continued at home. When it was over the ladies in front of me said that I just should have seen the expressions Lilly was making throughout the whole show because she was so taken by them.

DSC_7206 DSC_7208 DSC_7211 DSC_7215 DSC_7218 DSC_7245 DSC_7246 DSC_7255 DSC_7291 DSC_7266 DSC_7269 DSC_7276 DSC_7280 DSC_7285

We packed up and headed for the gate but got stuck on the way out by one of the balloon vendors. Lilly had wanted one at the beginning of the fireworks show but the cart moved away and I wasn’t going to track it down. Besides that thing would have been impossible during the fireworks. It was kind of impossible anyway! My goodness… First of all, it was a $14 balloon and we got two! Second, it is HUGE. I don’t exactly have a big dog, but she isn’t tiny either and these balloons are easily bigger than my dog. You get your money’s worth. Oh, and they also have LED light wands inside. So, at the very least, once they deflate we have some cool LED thing. yay!

DSC_7286 DSC_7300 DSC_7303

Disneyland for us was absolutely fantastic. The kids still talk about it so I know it was a good choice. My two regrets are the fact that the Peter Pan ride always had such a long wait we never did get a chance to ride that. It is one of my very favorite rides and I think the kids would have loved it. The second is that we didn’t get a chance to ride the monorail. I never looked closely enough to see where it went or stopped and we just ran out of time by the time we could maybe hop on. If those are my only regrets, I can live with it and say we had a happy time. The kids both got to meet their Disney favorites in a way that suited them and made it really special. We got to go on some rides, but didn’t have to worry about rushing around to get to one or wait absolutely forever just for rides. Some would say they are borderline too young to go because they wont remember it. I used to have that mentality as well but now I know that sometimes things are impressionable enough they might surprise you and it is worth it regardless. If now is the time that everything is magical and you can capture even a thread of that on film or camera it is just so worth it.

We were lucky and had a great day with very minimal fussing or tantrums and got a lot accomplished to make it feel “worth while”. It really was the happiest place on earth!

DSC_7288

Leave a Reply

