Misadventures Of An Average Mom

Because Average is the New Awesome!

Playing catch up!

on July 24, 2014

I swear I am absolutely never going to catch up on posts. So I suppose I will try (ha!) to do some kind of abbreviated one. No super huge details, just recaps…

So, the Thursday before Disneyland we all went to the Safari Park which was the last post. That same weekend we came back from Disneyland then we checked a few other things off my ‘must see’ list. Originally we were going to go to LA and see Hollywood Blvd. but traffic proved that would just be stupid. As it was it took us 3 hours to get home when it is a 1.5 hour drive normally. ick.

First we went to Point Loma to see the old lighthouse and a fun view of the bay. That was pretty cool and the kids really enjoyed walking around. Well, Lilly enjoyed it. I didn’t trust that Edison wouldn’t fall off a cliff into the ocean so I carried him on my back in the toddler Kinderpack we borrowed from a friend here. After Point Loma we went to Coronado beach since we were already in that area. We wanted to walk around and see the Coronado hotel, which is one of those really pretty sights apparently. It was so fun because as it was a Saturday we saw no less than 3 beach weddings! We had to stop and wait on the sidewalk for the processional of one to go on. Lilly LOVED that.

DSC_7317 DSC_7321 DSC_7324 DSC_7329 DSC_7354 DSC_7357 DSC_7362 DSC_7368 DSC_7370 DSC_7381 DSC_7392

During the week we made our typical trip to the zoo but I didn’t bother taking the camera this time. We met friends at the beach one of the days and just tried to have a low key day one of those.. but still went to the pool, obviously. Oh yes, we also had another ‘kicking and screaming’ exit from the library so I am happy that since we leave on Aug. 1 and we DID bring books from home, we are don’t with the library trips. Edison is just too active to sit still in a library. Yet, he loves for me to read to him over and over AND OVER again.

DSC_7412 DSC_7433DSC_7422-Edit

Thursday we picked Paco up from work a little bit early and met a friend I met online but had not yet met in person because she lives here AND takes photos! Now, funny story… we have one professional family photo and it was taken when Lilly was one year old. That is right, NONE with Edison. I decided that a beach/ ocean setting would be an awesome backdrop and my friend is super talented so it was all the perfect scenario. We took those at La Jolla Cove which just happened to be another one of my checklist items since they have the sea lions that beach there. The kids loved looking at them so close in the wild but getting to them was a trick. Lilly started walking towards one part of the rocks and I about had a panic attack because I looked down and there was a crack in them that she easily could have slipped through and been lost to oblivion. I decided we had enough sea lions and left to safer ground.

DSC_7447 DSC_7452 DSC_7454 DSC_7461 DSC_7465 DSC_7468 DSC_7472

We finished our pictures and then rushed back over to La Jolla shores so I could get some pictures of the pier since that was something I desperately wanted to do. I had to literally race against the sun to get the pictures because it was setting and the pier was REALLY far away. SO worth it! I got a great workout AND I love the pictures I got. I will probably get one enlarged and framed. That is if I ever pick a theme for my home decor and follow through…

DSC_7479 DSC_7486 DSC_7493-2

DSC_7504 DSC_7512 DSC_7514

Friday we went to Sea World, Saturday we went to the USS Midway and Sunday we went to the Del Mar Horsetrack Family Fun Day then drove out to Tucson for the week (we’re still here) because Paco had to travel for work. I will do a separate post on all of those sometime soon.

3 responses to “Playing catch up!

  1. We were in Coronado on Saturday, too! Probably saw the same weddings. ;-). Did you see the teenager playing the bagpipes on the beach?

Leave a Reply

